“Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 Sustainable War”, the compilation film of the Ghost in the Shell SAC_2045, a film version of the reconstructed Season 1 of Ghost in the Shell SAC_2045, will be streamed exclusively worldwide on Netflix from May 9, 2022. The soundtrack CD “Ghost in the Shell SAC_2045 O.S.T.2” from season 2 will also be released on June 22.

“Ghost in the Shell” is a cyberpunk science fiction based on the manga by Masamune Shirow that was published in “Young Magazine Pirated” in 1989. The series has continuously surprised and inspired the world with a wide range of works such as “GHOST IN THE SHELL” by Mamoru Oshii, the animation series and Hollywood live-action series.

The new Netflix series “Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045” is directed by two directors, Kenji Kamiyama of the “Ghost in the Shell: S.A.C.” series and Shinji Aramaki of the “APPLESEED” series. The production is by Production I.G and SOLA DIGITAL ARTS, which have been in charge of the “Ghost in the Shell” series. Season 1 has already been distributed exclusively worldwide in April 2020, and the distribution of Season 2 will start on May 23, 2022.

“Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 Sustainable War Movie”, which will be released on May 9, is a reconstructed version of Season1 with new scenes added and all cuts fully-graded. The director is Michihito Fujii, who has directed live-action films including “The Journalist”, which won the 6 award at Japan Academy Film Prize, and “The last 10 Years”. For the music, ‘millennium parade’ led by Daiki Tsuneda will continue to be in charge of the theme song.
The movie has already premiered in Japan on November 12, 2021 for a limited two-week screening run in 20 theaters, but this time will be a perfect opportunity for fans to watch it ahead of the distribution of Season 2.

In addition, the CD “Ghost in the Shell SAC_2045 O.S.T.2” containing the soundtrack of the latest Season 2 will be released on June 22, 2022.
The CD will also include three insert songs, including the new BGM created for Season 2 by Nobuko Toda and Kazuma Jinnouchi and “Don’t Break Me Down” sung by Scott Matthew, the vocalist of the accompaniment music by Yoko Kanno in the series “Ghost in the Shell: S.A.C.”. Also, prior to the distribution of Season 2, digital singles of the opening theme “Secret Ceremony” will be available on May 20 and the ending theme “No Time to Cast Anchor” on May 27.

The “Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045” series continues to gain momentum as Season 2 is set to be released on Netflix. Stay tuned for more information.

(C) Shirow Masamune, Production I.G/KODANSHA/GITS2045.