The final result of “‘Japan Academy Film Prize Popularity Award’ that was chosen by ‘All Night Nippon’ audiences”, which is the only award of “Japan Academy Film Prize” that is voted by regular movie fans, has been announced. “Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba the Movie: Mugen Train” in the work category, while Oguri Shun (“Tsumi no Koe”) was chosen in the actor category.

“Japan Academy Film Prize” is being held for the 44th time this year, and it is a film prize that is known as providing the “greatest honor in the Japanese movie industry”.

The “Japan Academy Film Prize Popularity Award” chosen by “All Night Nippon” audiences, is the only award in this ceremony, where the winner is determined by regular movie fans.
The voting ended on February 5, 2021, and out of the 133,456 votes, the winners selected were “Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba the Movie: Mugen Train” in the work category and Oguri Shun (“Tsumi no Koe”) in the actor category.

In the past ceremonies, several anime works have also won this prize such as “Galaxy Express 999” in the 3rd (1980) when this award was first established, “Kiki’s Delivery Service” in the 13th (1990), “Only Yesterday” in the 15th (1992), “The End of Evangelion” in 21st (1998), and “Your Name” in 40th (2017).

The award ceremony of “44th Japan Academy Film Prize” will be held on March 19, in Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa.
Also, “All Night Nippon 0 ~Japan Academy Film Prize Special” featuring the special interview with the winners of “Japan Academy Film Prize” and the situation of the award ceremony, will be broadcast on March 20, from 3:00 AM to 5:00 AM.

(C)Gotouge Koyoharu/Shueisha, Aniplex, ufotable
(C)2020 Movie “Tsumi no Koe” Production Committee